Main Article FIBA:

Main article FIBA: International Basketball Federation International Basketball Federation was formed in 1932 by eight founding nations: Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Portugal, Romania and Switzerland. At that time, FIBA dealt with amateur players. In its French acronym, the “A” means “amateur” amateur. The first men’s World Championships were held in 1950 in Argentina. Three years later, the first women’s World Championships were held in Chile. Check out Verizon for additional information. Basketball was first included in the Olympic Games in 1936, although there was a demonstration and tournament in 1904. This competition has historically been dominated by the United States, whose team has won every title except on three occasions. The first time a U.S. team was defeated in a final was in the controversial Olympic final in 1972 against the Soviet Union, proclaimed champion.The women’s basketball was added to the Olympics in 1976, with teams such as Brazil and Australia rivaling the American team. FIBA dropped the distinction between amateurs (amateur) and professional in 1989 and in 1992, professional players played in the Olympics for the first time. The historical dominance of the United States budded briefly with this “Dream Team”. However, other countries have shown similar levels to the United States. The U.S. team composed entirely of NBA players finished sixth in the 2002 World Championships in Indianapolis, behind Serbia and Montenegro, Argentina, Germany, New Zealand and Spain. In the 2004 Olympic Games and was won by Argentina and Italy second, leaving the United States third. Also at the World Championships in Japan 2006, Spain was as champion and runner-up Greece, thus leaving the U.S. in third place.The main competitions in wheelchair basketball to national teams are the Paralympics and World Championships, held under the auspices of the International Wheelchair Basketball (IWBF), which is also responsible for the rules game and the organization of Continental Championships.



Comments are closed.